Fishing Techniques

I was observing a largemouth-bass the other day with what I assumed were its babies swimming around it.  Because I know that Ma Nature is one of our greatest teachers, I took the opportunity to hang around a while to see what I could learn from such an experience.

Ma didn’t take long to start the lesson, because before I knew it a branch fell off a nearby tree, thereby creating a loud splash near the pool the parent and children were swimming in.  Then to my amazement, I watched the parent bass open its mouth, as the baby bass swam INTO ITS MOUTH for protection.

A number of thoughts sprang into mind at that moment.  First, I was amazed that the parents desire to increase the kids chances to survive is so strong that they would invite them to hide behind their molars for protection.

Second, I assume the parent fish to be the mother of the happy couple; because if it were a dude, he might forget the purpose of the fight or flight activity and assume fish sticks were on today’s menu.

Third, I am glad people don’t do that.

Finally, how did this little tradition get started.

“Mom, I’m scared!”  The children scream.

“Okay, climb in.” Mother responds.

Then the smarty-finned kid in the back row chimes in.

“Hey Ma, is that your stomach growling?

So, being a fisherman I tried to create a technique which would give me some kind of advantage the next time I was bass fishing.  The only problem is that the fish keep stealing my gum when I stick my head under the water to catch them.

About urbangrizzly

I am presently working on a project titled "The Urban Grizzly Bait Shop." I have long considered opening my own bait shop, and I have found the perfect location for this one... my imagination.
This entry was posted in humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fishing Techniques

  1. Michelle Baker-Herring says:

    How is this similar to kangaroos? How many animals wish they could protect their young like this? It might be nice now and then to tell Gavin to “climb in.”

Leave a Reply

