Vacation Flashbacks! 329 words. : )

I am listening to my wife’s iPod while I do some home reconstructing.  This may be a shock for those who know me.  (RE)constructing, may seem foreign to them, (DE)constructing… they have little trouble associating to me.  Anyway, while I am happily chopping and nailing I am also enjoying the occasional flashback to the motorcycle trip that I took this summer.  It happens when a particular song plays on the iPod.  Have you ever had that feeling?  If you have not, give it a try, because it is a blast!

I have experienced the flashback before during other situations, and because of this I had decided to set up a playlist with a rock group that I have seldom listened to.  There is one prescribed factor, however, that has to be followed.  And that factor is the song or songs have to be played A LOT!  Like the one play list, cd, or cassette tape per 500 miles.  This can be dangerous, however, because the government has discovered, and used this technique as a means to force criminals/dictators to surrender.  Therefore, if you share the vacation vehicle with someone, they may also feel that same need to surrender…or go insane.  If you are unaware of the surrender sign there is little need for concern, because the signals are relatively easy to spot.  Crying is a good sign of surrender to watch for, as is a sudden wild, unprovoked punch to the radio console.

I have discovered that some songs bring back specific memories.  And whether it is The Righteous Brothers, Ozzy, Black Crows, AC/DC, or in the case of my experiment, Rush; I can count on a particular song in their catalog to bring back a specific memory in clear surround sound, and techno-color detail. So if you are planning a spectacular get away, make a great play list, and prepare to make the vacation last a lifetime.  And if you are going with a friend, watch out for those tears, and/or wild punches, because it is not only the good memories that can well up during a flashback.

About urbangrizzly

I am presently working on a project titled "The Urban Grizzly Bait Shop." I have long considered opening my own bait shop, and I have found the perfect location for this one... my imagination.
This entry was posted in Fishing Stories, humor, Motorcycle trip, outdoor stories, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

