“But, Did You Catch Anything?” In response to a readers question.

IceFishing 1-20-12

IceFishing 1-20-12 (Photo credit: DenSmith (old – dennisbsa))

I don’t remember if it was Patrick F. McManus, or John Gustafson from “Grumpy, Old Men” who said, “When you are not catching fish, your stories tend to revolve around the scenery, and what a beautiful day it was. But when the fish ARE biting… Well, then, it’s all about the fight.” Perhaps it was neither who said it, maybe it came from my own pool of wisdom… It was probably Pat, or John.  But in reference to your question. I drilled about 8-10 holes in the lake that day- after 2 holes with an 8-inch auger with dull blades, and 6-inches of ice on the lake surface, I would lay on the ice and do my, “fish out of water routine”, until I had sufficient oxygen levels to continue.  After the first two holes, I fished each hole for 20 minutes a piece, catching 2-3 fish within the first 15 minutes. I did this until boredom set in, and decided that new holes needed to be drilled, and remembered that the best fishing occurred within the first two minutes of dropping the bait down the hole.This is based on observations in which I would watch what the little rascals were doing underwater with a video camera. When the bait dropped, they would swim madly from out of nowhere like an outfielder chasing a pop-fly.So, like I said, I would drill 2 holes. Lay on the ice sucking air like a fish out of water, repeat, until I had 8-10 holes. I say 8-10, because delirium MUST have set in causing me to drill several more holes I had forgotten about. Then, I would drop the baited hooks down the hole.  Once the bait was dropped I would give a 2 minute count, then move to the next hole if I did not get a strike. I am sure the professionals on Poland’s Professional Ice Fishing Team have a shorter name for this technique, but I called it “maddness I could not escape.” I caught about a dozen pan fish that day, and released some of the smaller ones. (Those worth less than a bite.) But… the sky was clear, crisp, and bright. Children were playing on the ice, and somewhere a happy dog barked, as leaf-less trees swayed gently in the breeze.  It was a beautiful day!
About urbangrizzly

I am presently working on a project titled "The Urban Grizzly Bait Shop." I have long considered opening my own bait shop, and I have found the perfect location for this one... my imagination.
This entry was posted in Family, fishing, Fishing Stories, humor, ice, outdoor stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

