A Visit From the Past.

One of my uncles came to me in my dreams last night. I’ve reflected on it a couple of times today. It’s been a really good day. Uncle Pete has been dead for several years now. It’s been a long time, and I miss him.

He didn’t drop off any hot fishing tips, or anything. We were at his garage in town, working on a cub-cadet tractor. It seemed the fuel tank had been knocked out-of-place, and needed to be reattached. We engaged in some light banter during the work, while he smoked his cigarette, and cleaned his fingernails with his pocket knife. All typical Uncle Pete stuff.

I found it nice to be in his presence again. Nice isn’t the word. My vocabulary is too limited. His tone of voice was…comforting. It gives me hope. I am glad he came by for a visit.  Maybe next time we’ll go fishing again.

About urbangrizzly

I am presently working on a project titled "The Urban Grizzly Bait Shop." I have long considered opening my own bait shop, and I have found the perfect location for this one... my imagination.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Visit From the Past.

  1. Loved this, I love having dreams about loved ones, makes missing them a little easier. Wished I could dream about him

    • urbangrizzly says:

      Thank you, Linda. It… gave me some peace, but also reminded me of the Uncle Pete sized hole in my heart. It was a sunny day in Clifford, with clouds hanging from the sky. I could see them hanging over the Gilmore place from inside the garage. The enthusiastic way he spoke in the dream was… so real. It’s really neat how the brain can take those small details, and put on a nice show while you sleep. I’m trying to remember what I ate before bed last night. I might have to go to the store! Thank you again, Linda. : )

Leave a Reply

